Once again, the Friends of Marie Zimmermann, in cooperation with the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, will celebrate Zimmermann’s inspiring and remarkable life at her farm in Delaware Township.
The annual open house will resume this year from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Sunday, June 20, at the farm on Zimmermann Farm Road off Route 209 (between mile markers 14 and 15).
There will be conducted house tours, open access to the grounds, and outside refreshments near the house.
The house is a stunning example of Dutch Colonial Revival, built in 1912 by Marie and her father, John Zimmermann. It has eight fireplaces and a livable third floor, which is currently under construction).
Marie Zimmermann (1879-1972) led an inspiring life of determination and example. She was not only a noted metalsmith from 1900 to 1940, with 10 pieces in the Metropolitan Museum Art (recently, the Met held an exhibit and lecture in her honor), little five-foot Marie was an accomplished hunter, fisherman, and gardener after 1940.
Her early motivation came from the natural world around her at Zimmerman Farm and a metalsmith course she took at Pratt Institute near her home in Brooklyn.
For information, call Max Brinson at 570-828-1441 or Bill Kiger at 570-618-3138.