Bloustein Award winners

| 29 Sep 2011 | 02:14

Vernon Township High School has named nine Bloustein Award winners: Zachary Maher, Tyler Vitone, Matthew Ceurvels, Michael Rovinsky, Nicholas Walsh, Ashley Vogt, Joseph Baker, Mark Benning, Steven Kelmelis, Jesse Pirnat, Chanah Ambuter, Charles Smigen and Ayman Andrews. Candidates are selected based on the following criteria: must be ranked in the top three of their class at the end of junior year, or be ranked among the top 10 percent with a combined SAT score of 1,260. The award is administered by the Higher Education Student Assistance Authority, an independent agency of the state of New Jersey. Each year more than 7,000 students statewide receive Garden State Scholarships in recognition of their high level of academic achievement. Students can use these awards to continue at New Jersey institutions of higher education.