New Franklin police officers sworn in

Make text smaller Make text larger


  • Newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr. takes Oath of Office.

  • Chief of Police Gregory Cugliari taking the Oath of Office.

  • PHOTOS BY ANNA ROSSNewly elected President Stephen Skellenger is sitting next to the newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr.

  • Council Member Gilbert Snyder takes Oath of Office.

FRANKLIN — Darlene Tremont, the Franklin Borough municipal clerk, had a very active evening administrating the oath of office to 5 Franklin Borough Officers during the Annual Reorganizational Meeting on Jan. 1.

Chief of Police, Gregory Cugliari took his oath and then introduced the other borough police Officers.

Captain Seamus Geddis was the first to take his oath, followed by Lt. Nevin Mattesich, Sgt. Will Grissom and Patrolman Brendan Prol. Many council members donned suits and ties to celebrate the momentous occasion.

"Our officers are the finest in the county," Mayor Nick Giordano said.

The council accepted Dawn Fantasia’s official resignation letter but all council members once again thanked Fantasia and wished her well. Subsequently, Council Member Stephen Skellenger was nominated, and then approved, as the new president.

In addition to the officers sworn in during the evening, Municipal Clerk Tremont had the pleasure of administrating the oath of office to Council Member Gilbert Snyder, who proudly stood with his granddaughter by his side and later thanked her publically, recognizing and preserving the historical moment, with verbal record. Council Member Snyder will serve another 3-year term. Newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr. was also sworn in to serve a 3-year term by Municipal Clerk Tremont.

Many other appointments were made in the evening as well. Mayor’s appointments included those to the Planning Board, Municipal Housing Liaison, Right to Know Coordinator, Assessment Search Officer, Tax Search Officer, Borough Physician, Animal Control Officer, School Crossing Head Guard and School Crossing Guards.

Planning Board Council representative is President Skellenger. President Skellenger was nominated via a motion, and then approved. Board of Health, Local Emergency Management Council and Economic Development Committee members were also named. Recreation Commission Secretary was left open, without appointment.

During the Consent Agenda review, several motions were removed and not approved at the January 1st meeting; however, many will be discussed at a later date. Most notably removed was the motion to adopt a Professional Services Resolution for various professional services including a Borough Engineer position.

Make text smaller Make text larger


Pool Rules


STEM crisis is serious for U.S.
On June 1, I sent out a piece on STEM, noted a crisis and two schools that were doing good in my home county of Sussex. For this nation, and many schools and universities, there...
Read more »

Motorcycles need room for safety
“Following too closely” is a major factor in crashes involving motorcyclists, according to transportation officials in Pennsylvania, New York, and New Jersey.
Read more »

Celtic family to celebrate Christmas
This holiday season join Natalie MacMaster and Donnell Leahy, the award-winning fiddle virtuosos, in an intimate and unique Christmas album and concert series you will never...
Read more »

ShopRite dietitians reveal their secrets to a better-for-you BBQ
Good news, barbecue fans — ShopRite’s team of dietitians say better-for you barbecuing is as easy as firing up the grill and filling it with healthier options like...
Read more »


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Community Newspapers


Local News
Vivian's Boutique vibrant with style
  • Jun 24, 2019
Police & Fire
Police: Woman crashes car into 7-11
  • Jun 21, 2019
Local News
Women graduate from training program
  • Jun 24, 2019


Weather in Lafayette, NJ