New Franklin police officers sworn in

Make text smaller Make text larger


  • Newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr. takes Oath of Office.

  • Chief of Police Gregory Cugliari taking the Oath of Office.

  • PHOTOS BY ANNA ROSSNewly elected President Stephen Skellenger is sitting next to the newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr.

  • Council Member Gilbert Snyder takes Oath of Office.

FRANKLIN — Darlene Tremont, the Franklin Borough municipal clerk, had a very active evening administrating the oath of office to 5 Franklin Borough Officers during the Annual Reorganizational Meeting on Jan. 1.

Chief of Police, Gregory Cugliari took his oath and then introduced the other borough police Officers.

Captain Seamus Geddis was the first to take his oath, followed by Lt. Nevin Mattesich, Sgt. Will Grissom and Patrolman Brendan Prol. Many council members donned suits and ties to celebrate the momentous occasion.

"Our officers are the finest in the county," Mayor Nick Giordano said.

The council accepted Dawn Fantasia’s official resignation letter but all council members once again thanked Fantasia and wished her well. Subsequently, Council Member Stephen Skellenger was nominated, and then approved, as the new president.

In addition to the officers sworn in during the evening, Municipal Clerk Tremont had the pleasure of administrating the oath of office to Council Member Gilbert Snyder, who proudly stood with his granddaughter by his side and later thanked her publically, recognizing and preserving the historical moment, with verbal record. Council Member Snyder will serve another 3-year term. Newest Council Member, Stephan P. Zydon Jr. was also sworn in to serve a 3-year term by Municipal Clerk Tremont.

Many other appointments were made in the evening as well. Mayor’s appointments included those to the Planning Board, Municipal Housing Liaison, Right to Know Coordinator, Assessment Search Officer, Tax Search Officer, Borough Physician, Animal Control Officer, School Crossing Head Guard and School Crossing Guards.

Planning Board Council representative is President Skellenger. President Skellenger was nominated via a motion, and then approved. Board of Health, Local Emergency Management Council and Economic Development Committee members were also named. Recreation Commission Secretary was left open, without appointment.

During the Consent Agenda review, several motions were removed and not approved at the January 1st meeting; however, many will be discussed at a later date. Most notably removed was the motion to adopt a Professional Services Resolution for various professional services including a Borough Engineer position.

Make text smaller Make text larger


Pool Rules


Fierce Fighters reach championship
Wallkill Valley 10u intermediate girls softball team, lovingly named the “Fierce Fighters” and sponsored by local Franklin businesses CKO Kickboxing and Pro Cutters...
Read more »

Henning S. Kristiansen
Henning S. Kristiansen, age 30, of Stockholm, passed away on Monday, June 17, 2019, at his home.
Born in Wayne to Henning Kristiansen and Michelle (Jenkins) Theobald, Henny...

Read more »

Police: Woman crashes car into 7-11
A 54-year-old Sussex County Woman was arrested early Tuesday evening after she allegedly drove a vehicle through a 7-Eleven building while under the influence of alcohol.
Read more »

Poolside mermaid

Read more »


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Community Newspapers


Police & Fire
Police: Woman crashes car into 7-11
  • Jun 21, 2019


Weather in Lafayette, NJ